Calvin Johnson, Shannon Sharpe part of Georgia HS Hall of Fame class


It’s been a lengthy time coming: Georgia will have its very own superior faculty soccer corridor of fame. Established to induct its inaugural course on Oct. 22, the HOF will involve high university gamers and coaches from Ga given that the 1894 inception of the organized league, according to ScoreATL and the Ga Large Faculty Soccer Historians website.

Although the total course is not but very clear, the Ga Significant Faculty Soccer Hall of Fame unveiled the 9 gamers who will be automated inductions. All nine are customers of the Pro Soccer Hall of Fame.

This group is designed up of Calvin Johnson (Sandy Creek), Champ Bailey (Charlton County), Ray Person (Thomson), Fran Tarkenton (Athens), Mel Blount (Lyons Industrial), Shannon Sharpe (Glennville, Richard Dent (Murphy), Rayfield Wright (Griffin) and Jim Parker (Ballard-Hudson), according to the Atlanta Journal-Structure.

On Thursday, the Corridor introduced this group and unveiled the names of 32 of the 100 players who will be portion of the to start with ballot that is voted on. That team of 32 incorporates Heisman Trophy winners George Rogers, Herschel Walker and Charlie Ward.

I.J. Rosenberg, the govt director of the Ga Higher Faculty Soccer Corridor of Fame, advised AJC that these 32 players are not necessarily shoe-ins and the very best candidates, but instead that they depict the entirety of the 100 for the reason that they are “a very good mixture of what to be expecting when we finalize the nominee listing.”

Of the 32, there were being 4 gamers from each individual ten years going again to 1950 and then four pre-1950. The relaxation of the 100 will be introduced in June.


Supply link